Month: May 2011

  • Baby Daniel

    I am going to use proper first names with this post.  I do not know, or have forgotten what the last names of those involved are.

    I met Baby Daniel yesterday afternoon in the lane out the back of my house.  My neighbour was walking around the neighbourhood with him and his cousin.  They were visiting her for a possibly indefinite period of time.  Both of these children were the sweetest children you could meet and just looking at them made my ovaries hurt.  After a brief chat and giving over all my toddler stuff to my neighbour for the babies to use while they stayed with her, we all went on our merry ways about life.

    This late morning after taking two dayhome children with me to collect Healthy Weighty Wee Man from kindergarten, we came upon Baby Daniel and his mom, Ayla.  Ayla was driving and had stopped at the entrance to the cul-de-sac where my neighbours house fronts on to, literally a few houses away from mine.  When we first saw them, I did not know it was Ayla and Baby Daniel.  We only saw the car stopped at the stop sign.  I could see from a distance that, what I know now to be Ayla, the driver of the car was considerably upset.  Hysterical is a better word.  Thinking that I could not concionably let this person drive away in such a state, I sent the boys I sent the boys in my charge on ahead to my house with the next door neighbour, knowing Nana would be waiting for them to arrive for lunch.  I was going to see if there was anything I could do to help the person calm down before proceeding on their way.

    After seeing it was Ayla and that Baby Daniel was in his car seat in the back.  Ayla was hysterical and was telling me that my neighbour had just been beyond vicious, hurtful and physically abusive to her.  Not knowing what happened, but knowing what I saw in front of me, which was a young mother verging on hysterical and knowing that never mind she was a danger to others on the road, but that her baby was in the car with her.  My first thought was to not let her drive away until she was calm.  During my conversation with Ayla, she had said that my neighbour had called the police and that she was concerned that Child and Family Services could become involved and that Baby Daniel would be taken away from her.  While there was nothing I could do about the previously mentioned things Ayla had told me, I could try keep her off the roads while she was hysterical and if the police were truly on the way, it would be better for Ayla and ultimately Baby Daniel that Ayla be in one place and not driving when the police arrived.

    With in a few minutes the police arrived.  After explaining my presence and giving my name etc etc, to one police officer while another went to the neighbours to hear their side of things, the officer that stayed at Ayla’s car, started talking to Ayla at which point she started to get upset again.  Knowing from my own experiences that it does not help a child to see a parent so upset, I offered to take Baby Daniel back to my house while they sort things out.  I offered this completely thinking that with in a half hour or so, everything would be sorted out and Ayla would be collecting Baby Daniel and everyone would be going on there merry way.  Not. So. Much.  Sadly, it would be a couple hours later that I would be giving Baby Daniel to a Social Worker who was apprehending him as Ayla was taken in to custody.

    Now in that time that Baby Daniel was at my house, he was the sweetest, most congenial baby you could meet.  Once he realized he was in a safe place, BD was swiftly crawling, climbing and just generally being a jovial baby.  He was actually a delight to have about.  It was especially hilarious to watch Ella, the dog, with BD.  She was so gentle and kind, almost as if she was afraid he would break if she touched him.  At one point, Babby Daniel crawled over to Ella and took her rawhide bone away from her to play with.  He took it right out of her mouth.  Ella looked at me, back to Baby Daniel, back to with a look of concern, confusion, and hurt on her sweet dog face, as if to say, “But that’s mine! Do something about it!”

    I do hope that Baby Daniel will be well taken care of and that he continues to be a sweet natured person. All the best to you Baby Daniel, may you be well cared for and loved for the rest of your life.

     

  • its the long weekend … ugh

    uhm is it Tuesday yet??

    The weather so far has been great and I’m thinking in hind sight, we should have gone to the Zoo today!  Going to try for Calaway Park tomorrow … please let the weather hold out long enough to get through the weekend and keep everyone busy to exhaustion!

     

  • Oldest Large Childs first time as keeper.  Sorry for the poor quality picture, I was trying to hold an umbrella in the pouring rain,stay warm and take a picture of my pleased as punch number 1 child during her first time in net.  During the indoor soccer season, OLC played forward.  This season Oldest Large Child has been playing defence and now keeper.  All in all it wasn’t a bad game.  The rain let up for the last half and OLC only let 5 shots on goals get passed her, the keeper for the other team let in 7.

     

    Oh yeah, OLC LOVED every minute of this new position!

  • the things I want

    I want …

    to live in peace

    to enjoy the sunshine on a beautiful day

    to hug my children with out fear it will be the last time

    to be cherished

    to be loved unconditionally with more feeling as if I were once again a child

     

  • Mother’s Day

    A mother is a woman who has conceived and carried a child in her womb, and for many women, that is easy. 

    A MOM however has carried a child in her heart, wiped his tears, eased his fears, kissed the bruises, washed the frogs, cried with her child over a broken heart, felt the agony of separation if even for only a few hours, had the bliss of sharing a sweet, dirty faced, mischief filled smile.  A Mom has felt the pain for her child and still let her learn the life lesson, no matter how gut wrenching.

    Being a Mom is not about getting pregnant and giving birth.  Being a Mom is losing your life, identity and soul to a child and loving every second of it.

    Happy Mother’s Day to all the women of the world.  All the women who are Moms by choice, who are Moms by chance and who are Moms that by choice, gave up their chance so other women could know the love of a child.

    WOW upside down spells MOM!

     

  • Nana Nana Bo-bana

    Today is my mothers  birthday and I have been told many times over the past few weeks that this is a day that is no longer celebrated, we are to celebrate my niece’s birthday instead as she was born on the same day 26 years ago.  But that said, now that Nana is a part of this house hold, I will at least mark the passing of Nana’s Birthday here!

    Happy Birthday Mom, 70 years young is no small feat!  Especially knowing my brothers and sisters!  You’re lucky to be alive (not to mention US!) for all we have put you through over the years!

    okay! so it’s a few years old but it is my mom surrounded by her pride and glory … but a few of her grandchildren!

  • its a busy monday ….

     

    What a way to start the month!  It has truly been a busy Monday.  The weather has been wonderful and I must say, it really makes for a change from the incredibly long cold rotten winter we had this year.  Now that the snow is gone, I am able to FINALLY get rid of all the wonderful pressies the dog has left behind in the garden and let me tell you that task alone is a chore!  I had been pooping scooping at irregular intervals during the winter, but more often than not, with the snow we got this year …. Ella’s sometimes not so little deposits were buried before they could be scooped away.  After giving the remaining grass a good raking, I spread some grass seed and now will be the challenge to keep it moist enough to take hold!  That was the start to my day!

    After that task was done, I got to go do my civic duty and vote in the federal election.  That was an interesting process … the voter card I received in the mail had my maiden name on it.   A name I have not used in seven years … and as I had changed ALL my ID and tax info (where the Canadian government gets their voter lists from) to my married name when I moved back to Canada nearly three years ago I’m not sure where this came out of …. AND it was spelled wrong to boot! I really had to use a large amount of self control when one of the gentlemen on the other side of the elections table said, “Well you need to make sure you go get your identification changed, or you’ll get a fine for that.”  Uhm what part of … “This voters card arrived in the mail, but I’ve not used that name since I got married … seven years ago” would make you think I had NOT changed all my ID?  I know most of the polling stations are manned by retired volunteers, but I really think this gentleman left is brains at the office when he retired!

    The last part of our day was filled with the start of the spring soccer season.  This time all three are playing and while Healthy Weighty Wee Man still needs some errr A LOT of direction, they are enjoying themselves.  Even if it is the first night.  Of course, I’m sure that Winsome01 has set the precident of stopping for treats afterward helps too!  At least it makes for a good bribe when Healthy Weighty Wee Man is a bit distracted!