Month: July 2009

  • bear with me internet

    I know I am silent.

    Really not much is going on and as it happens, I have been sick for the past few days which really makes nothing happen, as it is all I can do to struggle through the day and then fall in to bed for a mostly sleepless night as I struggle to breathe and cope with a throat that is rebelling in all sorts of painful ways.

    I will not be silent for much longer,  you can rest assured.

     

  • what to write

    I do log in everyday and open a new entry and then sit and sit and look at a white square waiting for inspiration, and the I close the blank white square.

    There is nothing to tell you.  10 minutes later my head is over flowing with ideas to share.  I do have a mixture of emotions lately.  While there is nothing great happening in our lives there seems to be so much at the same time. 

    Much of my time these days is spent finding not only adequeate child care for the autumn, but one that is going to let me leave the kids with them until 6pm or later as needed as some days traffic can be so bad it takes me THAT LONG to get home.  And finding one that will collect the children from school is not all that easy.  I did have one lined up and then the childcare provider rang me ine evening and said that she wasn’t able to collect Wee Blonde Child from school because in the winter it would mean having to take her 1year old out side in the cold. ~ Its called a snowsuit and they are quite warm. ~ This from a woman who could see the school from the front of her house just like me.  But I’ll not go there …

    There is other shite happening in my life too, but really other than ringing PrettyMorningSky and ranting about it, its not worth mentioning.  Lets just say I have come to realise how petty, immature and greedy people really can be.  And here I was worried about me!

     

  • why having children after a certain age is just wrong!

    As seen here.

    “A Spanish pensioner who became the oldest woman in the world to give birth in 2006 when she had twin boys at the age of 67 using in vitro fertilization has died, local media reported Wednesday.

    Carmen Bousada, who was single, died on Saturday from a cancer which was diagnosed just one year after she gave birth to Cristian and Pau, daily Diario de Cadiz reported citing her brother.

    She gave birth to the twins on December 26, 2006 at Barcelona hospital after undergoing treatment at a US fertility clinic, sparking a worldwide debate.

    Bousada admitted to lying to US doctors at fertility clinic about her age, saying she was 55, so as to not be rejected as a patient.

    Spanish law does not set an age limit for fertility treatments but the majority of clinics turn away women who are over 50.

    “Everyone should have children at the appropriate moment,” Bousada said in an interview published in British tabloid News of the World one month after she gave birth to the twins.

    She said she had waited until the death in 2005 of her mother, who she had looked after for several years, to carry out her dream of becoming a mother, 18 years after going through menopause.

    Bousada told the newspaper she was confident she would live as long as her mother, who died at the age of 101, and become a grandmother.

    After she was diagnosed with cancer, she told Spanish television that her nephew and their godfather could look after the twins if she died.”

    Seriously there is a reason (you can choose why you believe it ~ God said no more, biology just says it isn’t worth it, ohh I don’t know, maybe common sense!) why women are not able to produce children after their bodies reach a certain age.  And with each woman it is different.  Biologically it is possible to manipulate that and yes the risks for some things in life are just as great at all ages not just SENIOR CITIZENS!  If you are a woman who wants to have children think about that BEFORE you turn 30.  After 30 there are risks, after 35 there are greater risks as you get older there are even greater to the children you think you have to bear yourself and to yourself!  Let us not forget the lack of sleep a newborn baby brings, the extended energy that toddlers and young children have and use!  I speak from experience!  I was 30 when I started having my family and I’m not even 40 yet and I have a hard time keeping up with never mind ahead of my children.  Yes, one is easier than three, but when your 70 and your body doesn’t work just as well as it did when it was 50 YEARS YOUNGER!, it smacks in the face of common sense to give birth to a child at such an advanced age. 

    It is just pure, unadulterated, selfishness to bring a child in to the world that is going to have to be raised by someone who may not want to take on a child, but will because of some misguided sense of duty to the parent.  Not to mention that you as a SENIOR CITIZEN are not going to be able to give that child(ren) memories of playing footie, active games with Mam and or Dad.  The woman in the article above was a SINGLE PARENT!  And whether it be true or not, seemed to have a blase attitude toward her two young sons saying, “her nephew and their godfather could look after the twins if she died.”  I can’t even wrap my little mind around that one as I don’t want to leave my children with anyone.  Yes, I despise the awfulness of cancer and I feel for the woman  that she had to suffer it and ultimately succummed to it.  Yes, that is a tragedy.  But what is a bigger tragedy is two wee boys were left without their mother at such a tender age.

    Come on wise up!  You don’t have to give birth to be a parent.  There are too many children who, for possibly the same reasons, maybe some different ones, are parent-less and yearn for someone to love them and care for them.  Being a parent is not just a short term commitment, its bigger than having a mortgage!  Being a parent is a life time commitment, it never ever stops no matter how you or the child become.  Love transcends colour of skin, ethnic background, race and religion.  Any man or woman can be a parent, it takes someone really special to be a Mammy or Daddy.

     

  • office shannigans …

    why you may not like me knowing its your birthday and where your desk is at …. 

    what I did to candice's desk

    Happy Birthday UBC Engineer!

     

  • and we embark upon week two …

    Here we go, week two of Day Camp and I have to say as uneventful as last week was, it was busy!  I  mean really.  There was no real difference for me because at the end of the day I still have to take the Monsters to and from childcare, but what about Day Camp?  Why is it any different?  Yeah please someone tell me what is with that! 

    So now we embark on the new week and Wee blonde Child is more than ready to go, Healthy Weighty Wee Man can’t wait to get there and Oldest Large Child is sad because she is changing leaders this week.  Once again we begin a week of keeping tired children occupied and therefore awake until bedtime, because you know they are going to wake up at 5am hungry because there was no way they were shifting to eat supper at 6:30pm!  And I’ll let the leaders worry about what to do with them with the torrential downpours of rain forecast for the first two days of the week!

    Happy Monday all as I make it look like I’m sat at my desk doing actual work and not playing some random game I have come across on the internet! 

    Enjoy!

     

  • ‘coz he wants to be 25 forever!

    But he’s not!  Today The Husband turns …..

    heritage park calgary 036

     

    26!

    Happy Birthday Loverman!

     

    post edit: as Prettymorningsky pointed out …. no he is not that age anymore!  It was sarcasm people!

  • a conversation while collecting the Monsters from Day Camp yesterday

    Insane Mother of Three: So it must have went okay today, the building is still standing and you didn’t call me today … you have my cell number right?

    Leader 1: Yeah it went good today.  They all had a lot of fun.

    Leader 2:  Oh, (Insane Mother of Three) could I get you to sign (Wee Blonde Child)’s incident report?

    IMoT: Alright.  What did she do?

    L2: (handing me said report) Oh (WBC) is good, she hurt her arm somehow and wanted a Band Aid.

    IMoT: (reading report starts laughing)  Can I get a copy of this?

    L1: Uhm I’m sure I can get you a copy …. why?

    IMoT: It says, “When (WBC) came to me crying and saying she wanted a Band Aid, she was too cute and I couldn’t say No.”

    L2: She used those big blue eyes on me! How could I say NO?!

     

  • DAY CAMP!

    Okay I’m not sure who was more excited this moring that the Monsters were going to day camp at a local community centre.  I know Oldest Large Child was often talking about it last week and I know I couldn’t wait for them to go as it was a childcare juggling act for the past fortnight and I just wanted them to be able to get out, be active, make crafts, meet new people and of course have fun.

    They will be attending Day Camp for the next several weeks and each week has different themes and activites to go along with those themes.  In the past, in fact in another lifetime, I have been a camp counsellor, craft co-ordinator, youth counsellor, so I know that work and planning has gone in to the activies taking place.  I also know that it takes a special person to work with kids of any age group and abilites. 

    When I arrived to collect the Monsters from Day Camp Healthy Weighty Wee Man was happily sat on the knee of one of the leaders whom the Monsters refered to as “Big Kahuna”. HWWM was so happy there all he did was say “Hi Mummy!” when I get there.  Wee Blonde Child raced around the table to nearly knock me over as per her usual style of flinging herself at people she is wanting to give hugs to.  OLC had to be found in the gym playing some basketball. 

    After it was sorted out that I did infact belong to said children, there came the task of trying to get them to leave.  This was not an easy task.  Apparently HWWM had so much fun he didn’t want to leave.  Not for love, money or promise of food was he going home.  At one point in gather all the Monsters together, he dissappeared.  I checked the car and he hadn’t headed there, he wasn’t in the toilet, nor did he appear to be in the gym, preschool class, hallways, stair well, or the office.  Appreantly HWWM figured if he hid in the sport equipment store room we would leave him there.  After he was removed from the store room, HWWM made his way back to Big Kahuna and proceeded to attach himself to him.  Knowing my children as I do, gathered everything up and started heading to the car.  I could hear behind me “She’s really going!” from one of the leaders.  Hey you have to do what it takes to get a child to follow you and if that means to start leaving … as I reached the doors to the Community Ctr with Oldest Large Child and Wee Blonde Child in tow, I hear the “Hey wait for me!!!” I knew would be elicited from Healthy Weighty Wee Man.  However getting him to actually go farther than the vestibule was another feat.

    Yeah I’m thinking he had a great time.  The look on his face said he was wiped right out and would be a handfull until bedtime.  Good thing it was only two hours until bedtime at that point.  So now with all the Monsters in their respective beds and fast asleep within seconds of getting there, I’m certain that as long as every day is like this, Day Camp was a worth while investment this summer.  Now lets see how early they wake up in the morning!

     

  • Happy Canada Day! 142 years young

    Canada_Flag_Sunset

    Canada Day

    On June 20, 1868, a proclamation signed by the Governor General, Lord Monck, called upon all Her Majesty’s loving subjects throughout Canada to join in the celebration of the anniversary of the formation of the union of the British North America provinces in a federation under the name of Canada on July 1st.

    The July 1 holiday was established by statute in 1879, under the name Dominion Day.

    There is no record of organized ceremonies after this first anniversary, except for the 50th anniversary of Confederation in 1917, at which time the new Centre Block of the Parliament Buildings, under construction, was dedicated as a memorial to the Fathers of Confederation and to the valour of Canadians fighting in the First World War in Europe.

    The next celebration was held in 1927 to mark the Diamond Jubilee of Confederation. It was highlighted by the laying of the cornerstone by the Governor General of the Confederation Building on Wellington Street and the inauguration of the Carillon in the Peace Tower.

    Since 1958, the government has arranged for an annual observance of Canada’s national day with the Secretary of State of Canada in charge of the coordination. The format provided for a Trooping the Colours ceremony on the lawn of Parliament Hill in the afternoon, a sunset ceremony in the evening followed by a mass band concert and fireworks display.

    Another highlight was Canada’s Centennial in 1967 when Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II attended the celebrations with Parliament Hill again being the backdrop for a large scale official ceremony.

    The format changed in 1968 with the addition of multicultural and professional concerts held on Parliament Hill including a nationally televised show. Up until 1975, the focus of the celebrations, under the name “Festival Canada”, was held in the National Capital Region during the whole month of July and involved numerous cultural, artistic and sport activities, as well as municipalities and voluntary organizations. The celebration was cancelled in 1976 but was reactivated in 1977.

    A new formula was developed in 1980 whereby the National Committee (the federal government organization charged with planning Canada’s Birthday celebrations) stressed and sponsored the development of local celebrations all across Canada. “Seed money” was distributed to promote popular and amateur activities organized by volunteer groups in hundreds of local communities. The same approach was also followed for the 1981 celebrations with the addition of fireworks displays in 15 major cities across the nation.

    On October 27, 1982, July 1st which was known as “Dominion Day” became “Canada Day”.

    Since 1985, Canada Day Committees are established in each province and territory to plan, organize and coordinate the Canada Day celebrations locally. Grants are provided by the Department to those committees.

    copy taken from here: http://www.pch.gc.ca/pgm/ceem-cced/jfa-ha/canada-eng.cfm