Month: September 2007

  • then I must have very very healthy babies….

    “BARNAUL, Russia (Reuters) – A Siberian woman who gave birth to her 12th child — doing more than her fair share to stem Russia’s population decline — was stunned to find that little Nadia weighed in at a massive 7.75 kg (17.1 lb).



    The Guinness World Records lists a 10.2 kg baby boy born in Italy in 1955, and a 10.8 kg baby boy who was born in the United States in 1879 but died 11 hours later.



    The average weight for most healthy newborn babies is around 3.2 kg (7.06 lb), according to World Health Organisation figures.”


    Okay so my children were not  as large as that baby girl, but I did have large children, Oldest Large Child weighing in at 3.99 kg (8lbs 15oz) Wee Blonde Child at 3.77 kg (8lbs 4oz) Healthy Weighty Wee Man at 4.39 kgs (9lbs 13oz).  But according to the WHO from the link above, I must have had really really healthy babies…. the average being 3.98 kg (approx 8lbs 14oz).  Which for those in the know are really big babies to give birth to!

  • what is the point (rant #2)

    What is the point of having a car seat in your car if you are not going to put your child in it?


    Again the school run twice a day puts me in traffic and as I look around at car passing me I see ALL THE TIME children climbing about in cars that have EMPTY child restraining devices BECAUSE THE CHILD IS NOT IN THEM!  Yes I tell my children to get in their seats when getting in the car and then I go and BUCKLE EACH CHILD IN PROPERLY!  Then I get in the car itself!  I just don’t get it! Why bother having children if you are just going to make possible projectiles of them by not putting them in proper restraining devices.  Never mind the hazard they are when climbing all over a non moving car not forgetting that these people are driving so therefore they ARE MOVING!


    Why?  I really JUST DON’T GET THAT ONE!

  • hope this is better

    I hope that this is now better to read.  While the other theme was loverly I got a few comments that is was difficult to read.  the problem was that I couldn’t get the same views that everyone else did no matter what I tried stopping short of going to an internet cafe and paying to use what I already pay for at my house!  And so I didn’t know what you could or couldn’t see as the case was!

  • what is the point?

    what is the point of making a law that the police break while they have to enforce it?  It is now illegal to use a mobile phone while driving a car.  If you are seen with a mobile phone held to your ear while driving you can get fined and/or penalty points on your driving licence.  This being Ireland it will probably be both as you have to pay the Government to get rid of both and here the Gov’t wastes money like I have never seen!  ANYHOW, my rant is this, as I have to drive across town twice a day to do the “school run”, I am in a lot of traffic and I see the Gardai with this traffic (doesn’t help that many live in the same estate as I do!) and all too often I see the Garda that is driving is TALKING ON THE PHONE WHILE DRIVING!  And more often than not, it is a male Garda not a female so that stereo type is out the window.  Even I use my headset to talk on the phone if I have to while driving!

  • its his fault….

    So before we were married my husband had the habit of leaving a TV on all night.  More like he was just too lazy to set the timer on it (if it had one!) so it would turn itself off after he fell alseep!  He used to tell me it was so he could wake up watching the news as most TV channels over here run a news feeder after they have gone “off air”.  Anyhow I didn’t really object too much as I had gotten in to the habit of sleeping with a small lamp lit and a radio on low volume after Oldest Large Child was born.  My theory was the radio helped OLC to sleep through almost anything and when I was breastfeeding the small lamp was just enough light to see what I was doing without completely waking me or OLC for those middle of the night feeds!


    SO.  The TV habit survived as it served both purposes after Wee Blonde Child and Healthy Weighty Wee Man were born.  One apparatus both uses covered!  Still and most often to this day the TV is left on in our room at night.  The other morning WBC and HWWM woke really early (6am) and as I was loath to get out of my bed before the sounding of my alarm, I turned on the TV and VCR in the Monsters room to keep them quiet for the next hour or so.  Well that sort of worked.  What did work was that HWWM fell back asleep.  What didn’t work was the video that was turned on, turned itself off as it was at the end of the tape.  Well WBC noticed that the TV was on in Mum & Dad’s bedroom and not only that, but the Doodlebops was on it!  This was about 6.45.  Then Dora came on, at first WBC was standing watching the TV, then she decided to get comfortable and sat down in front of the TV with blanket.  Then Mummy’s alarm went off.  I have never seen that child move so fast first thing in the morning! 


    Out of the room that child went.  Forget blanket, she is just not gonna get caught!  Then the alarm stops as I hit snooze and a few seconds later WBC creeps back in the room and sits in front of the TV once again.  The alarm sounds again!  Out goes WBC!  The alarm stops, back comes WBC. This happens two or three times and each time WBC sits in front of the TV. Then Daddy moves, out goes WBC!  Daddy stops moving, back comes WBC. Then Mummy’s alarm again!  By now WBC has sorted out that it is not worth sitting down and she comes back in the room to stand and watch the TV.  At 7.35, after realising what was happening 20 minutes before and my snooze alarm was going every 5 minutes and Daddy was moving in between, I let WBC get some rest and got out of bed to start my day.  We went down stairs where she could watch TV from the safety of the sofa in the play room!

  • something new for me!

    Well I am attempting to take the plunge and become a professional blogger.  SOOOOO I need everyone to visit this site daily and if you use